The Central Idaho Historical Museum is located in McCall, Idaho. The museum’s four acre site consists of eight structures, seven of which were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in 1937 for the Southern Idaho Timber Protective Association (SITPA). All eight buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The crown jewel of our site is the remarkable Fire Warden’s House. This three-story log structure, built in 1937, is a stunning example of “American Rustic” architecture with a Finnish influence. The houses’ interior woodwork is beautifully crafted and the furnishings are original. To visit the Fire Warden’s House is to step back in time.
Our exhibits focus on local and regional subjects: CCC, fire lookouts, the McCall Mill, logging, Smokey the Bear, forestry and area history. The museum is honored to be the State of Idaho’s official site for “The Worker,” a bronze statue representing the young men of the CCC.
Open: Wed – Sat, 11am to 3pm, June through August. The site is free and open to the public, however, there is a $3 charge to tour the historic Fire Warden’s House.
The museum is a self-funded, all volunteer, 501c3 organization supported by membership, site rentals, donations and grants.
1001 State Street | McCall, Idaho 83638 | (208) 634-4497 | email@example.com