Listed on the National Register of Historic Places

 

  The Museum sits on four acres in the heart of McCall.  It  consists of seven structures built by the Civilian Conservation Corps   in 1937 for the Southern Idaho Timber Protective Association (SITPA).  The log buildings served as a headquarters and were   intended to showcase the skills of the local Finnish carpenters who supervised it’s construction.

 

 In 1990 when SITPA moved, the State of Idaho deeded the property to the City of McCall.  A Board of Directors is responsible for the site, now known as the Central Idaho Historical Museum.

1001 State Street

McCall, Idaho  83638

 

(208) 634-4497

cihmuseum@frontiernet.net

 

OPEN

Summer:  11-3 pm Wed thru Sat.

House Tours:  1:30 pm

June - August

Winter:  Office hours only

1-3 pm Mon. & Fri.

 

 

 

The Central Idaho Historical Museum is dedicated to:

        Displaying and Interpreting the History of Central Idaho

2004  “SITPA– 100 Years”                                                                                                  2005   “Borrowed Memories”

Education and Community Involvement

Guest Speakers                                                                                                                      Making learning  fun

Collecting, Documenting and Preserving the Past

Archives                                                                                                                                  Artifacts

Central Idaho Historical Museum

Fire Warden’s House

Text Box:  NEXT
Text Box:  pg2